College Life

I worried for a long time about what my eating habits at college would be.  Without the love and support of my parents- where do my intentions go? Well, I moved in a couple of weeks ago and have been feeling great. I eat “normally” and even visited the gym and managed a “normal” workout. It’s not so hard being on my own. Shit gets better.

Walking down the hallway this morning, I saw this sign:

My first reaction was excitement- a scale! Measurements! I filed the dates in my head.
Wait a second……
This will get me nowhere. I’m not overweight, and I certainly don’t need a weight loss competition. If someone overweight really feels unhealthy and safely sheds pounds, whatever. But to win an iPod? This event is dumb.

So I’ve taken down all of these signs and replaced them with quotes from Margo Maine’s “20 Ways to Love Your Body” list. Some of my favorites:

2. Create a list of all the things your body lets you do. Read it and add to it often.
9. Think about all the things you could accomplish with the time and energy you currently spend worrying about your body and appearance. Try one!
15. Think back to a time in your life when you felt good about your body. Tell yourself you can feel like that again, even in this body at this age.
3. Become aware of what your body can do each day. Remember it is the instrument of your life, not just an ornament
14. Find a method of exercise that you enjoy and do it regularly. Don’t exercise to lose weight or to fight your body. Do it to make your body healthy and strong and because it makes you feel good..
4. Create a list of people you admire: people who have contributed to your life, your community, or the world. Consider whether their appearance was important to their success and accomplishments.

Read the rest here.

5 Comments

Filed under anorexia, body image, eating disorders, pro-ana, pro-health, yanyb, you are not your body

5 responses to “College Life

  1. Welcome back YANYB… wishing you the best this semester and many more thereafter!

    -shanti *t

  2. Lola Snow

    Definately a ridiculous competition! It’s just asking for trouble! Great list though, i am doing the last one now. Weird how i don’t judge anyone else’s value as a person on their weight, but when it comes to me…..different story
    Good Thoughts
    Lola x

  3. somebodyelse4u

    You make some really good points here. When you’re worrying about the old “Freshman 15” phenomenon, it’s hard to remember not to hate your body! Andy it’s so much easier to not go after the dessert in the dining hall when you’re feeling happy and healthy.

  4. YourPapa

    I am so proud of you. Hope that you are not upset that your Dad is making a comment on this site, but I was so happy to see your post. I hope that you continue to be well.

    You are beautiful.

    (Hope that you recycled those posters…let’s hope that the iPod goes to somebody that truly benefits from the program.)

    Papa

  5. SO proud of you for taking them down and replacing them! That’s a very dumb competition.

Leave a Reply

